The WBSC Women’s Softball World Cup returns to Europe: eighteen top teams in Ireland, Spain, and Italy

The WBSC Women’s Softball World Cup returns to Europe: eighteen top teams in Ireland, Spain, and Italy
After nine years, the WBSC Women’s Softball World Cup will be back in Europe. The last time was in 2014 when the premier softball event took place in Haarlem, Netherlands.

The 17th edition of the Women’s Softball World Cup will begin on 11 July in Dublin, Ireland, with Group A action taking place until 15 July, followed by Group B in Valencia, Spain, from 18-22 July. Group C will be played in Castions di Strada and Buttrio, Italy, from 22-26 July.
Ireland, Spain, and Italy are first-time hosts of a WBSC Softball World Cup.

In Ireland, the British and Irish national squads will face Australia, Botswana, Chinese Taipei, and the United States, in Group A. Tickets can be found here.

Spain and the European Champions from the Netherlands will play in Valencia, in Group B, against China, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and South Africa. Supporters can purchase tickets for Group B here.

Italy will not only host Group C, but will also be the only European team at the event, together with Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Philippines, and Venezuela. Group C tickets are available here.

The six participating teams of each group will open the tournament with a single round-robin. The top four teams in the final standings will advance to the knockout games, with the top two earning a double chance to secure their ticket to the Finals in 2024.
The knockout games will open with an elimination game between the third and fourth-place teams, followed by a one versus two matchups, with the winner earning the first available ticket to the Finals. The winner of the first game (3 vs 4) and the loser of the second game (1 vs 2) will meet in the Repechage Game, in a winner-takes-all contest for the second spot in next year’s Finals.

A total of nineteen games will be played in each Group.

Games can be followed on the WBSC website through the play-by-play (Group A, Group B, Group C) or watched on GameTime, the WBSC streaming platform, purchasing Tournament Pass or Group Pass.